Sign up to our email list > Sign up to our email list Join a growing party > Join a growing party Donate to the Green Party > Donate to the Green Party

North Tyneside Borough Green Party

North Tyneside Borough is divided into two parliamentary constituencies: Tynemouth and North Tyneside. Both Parliamentary seats are currently held by Labour: Alan Campbell in Tynemouth and Mary Glindon in North Tyneside.

The local council has twenty wards (ten in each constituency) with three councillors sitting in each ward.  The executive of the Council is an elected Mayor and Cabinet (selected by Mayor). Elections take place annually, with one councillor elected each year, and in the fourth year, the Mayor is elected.

North Tyneside Borough Green Party is affliated to the National Green Party, and operates across the whole of North Tyneside Borough. Branch members work on behalf of all constituents within the North Tyneside area, as well as contesting elections for council wards.


2019 Local Elections

Green Party vote shares in North Tyneside (2018 figure in brackets for comparison).

Across all wards contested - 11.00% (5.96%)

Cullercoats - 11.87% (6.06%)
Monkseaton North - 8.27% (-)
Monkseaton South - 8.02% (3.16%)
Riverside - 13.29% (8.98%)
Tynemouth - 12.04% (3.61%)
Valley - 9.39% (5.61%)
Wallsend - 12.91% (8.77%)
Whitley Bay - 13.60% (7.37%)

Overall we had a good local election this year with all our votes up, some doubled and even trebeled. 

And for the North East of England we have made the big breakthrough of elected councillors in South Shields, Sunderland & Darlington.

We will post a more detailed aprasial when we have crunched the numbers.


Climate Emergency Gathering. 



We made our voice heard and a Climate Emergency was

declared by North Tyneside Council. Unfortunately they

set 2050 as the target date for Carbon neutrality in the 

borough. Most other authorities in the region have gone with

2030. This is to late to the campaigning goes on.



There is plenty of more imedeate news updates on our Facebook page 
North Tyneside Green Party Facebook Page

and watch out for new and exciting Green mesages coming soon to this web page.




Latest news

>> More news

RSS Feed

Sign up for updates

Find out more